Data Deletion Policy

1. Purpose

This document sets out our policy for responding to requests for deletion of data under data protection law. This document explains the rights of the data subject in relation to data deletion and the responsibilities of The Business Manual in responding with such a request.

2. Individual Rights

An individual has the right to erasure, also known as ‘the right to be forgotten’. The principle underpinning this right is to enable an individual to request the deletion or removal of personal data where there is no compelling reason for its continued processing.

3. When does the right to erasure apply?

As stipulated in data protection law, individuals have a right to have personal data erased and to prevent processing in specific circumstances:

  • Where the personal data is no longer necessary in relation to the purpose for which it was originally collected/processed;
  • When the individual withdraws consent;
  • When the individual objects to the processing and there is no other legal ground for the relevant processing activity;
  • When the personal data was unlawfully processed;
  • Where the personal data has to be erased in order to comply with a legal obligation.

4. What information does The Business Manual retain?

The Business Manual stores data about individuals in order to create an account on our platform. We store the first name , last name, e-mail address which is stored on our wordpress server for a period of use of this account in our platform. This data is stored and used in accordance with our Privacy Policy

If consent is provided, personal data may be stored in our CRM system for the purposes of contacting you regarding The Business Manual news, products and promotions.

5. How can data be deleted?

If you have purchased a subscription on The Business Manual, The Business Manual acts as data controller. In this case, we will delete the user account upon request (via email to [email protected]), upon closure of your account, or after three years.

A user of the The Business Manual Account, acting on behalf of their organization, can delete data from their account whenever they wish. This data is deleted from the system immediately and cannot be recovered by any users or The Business Manual employees after this point. Data which has been deleted or otherwise destroyed can not be recovered at any time. Sufficient warning is given to the account administrator before data is permanently deleted.

Data may still remain in the systems back-up files, which will be deleted periodically.

Information may be deleted from our CRM upon request to [email protected]. We undertake to perform the deletion within one month (30 calendar days) and will send you a confirmation once the information has been deleted. Wherever possible, we will aim to complete the request in advance of the deadline.